Butter Coffee

A couple of weeks ago, my super cool on-trend cousin introduced me to ‘butter coffee’ – a practice that literally involves putting butter into your coffee. Equal parts intrigued (hey, two of my favorite things!) and mortified, I had a hard time silencing my inner Regina George. Screen Shot 2013-10-03 at 3.39.42 PM Alas, I took to the Google to read up more. What I found was pretty interesting and actually made sense. I’m no food blogger, nor am I a nutritionist, so I think this brief interview with Bulletproof coffee expert Dave Asprey lays it out butter better than I can. So, what do you think? Would you try it? Below is my recipe. I’m on day 2 and loving it!

  • 1 tsp. grass fed unsalted butter (I used Kerry Gold)
  • 2 tsp. organic coconut oil
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 8 oz. organic dark roasted coffee

Put ingredients in blender and blend thoroughly (about 15 seconds) to completely emulsify the oils. Bottoms up!

DSC01359

3 thoughts on “Butter Coffee

  1. I’m actually extremely curious! I think I will try it even though I’m usually a staunch drink-it-black coffee drinker.

Leave a Reply

